Alex Bogusky vs Success

Alex Bogusky learns from his successes
It appears Mr Bogusky has been imparting sage advice at my mate Brent Hodgins’ Mirren conference. “I’ve never learned anything from my mistakes,” Bogusky said. “Again, I hate conventional wisdom. Conventional wisdom is learning from your mistakes. What about learning from your successes? That’s where I’ve focused [my energies]. Like, this works, we better get down and study on this.”

I have to say I agree. Back in the Chiat days, Carl Johnson was always looking for projects/ groups/ processes that somehow worked, and tried to replicate them. In a big agency culture these successful groups or projects often get ground down by intransigence, inertia or received wisdom.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

